Return of Serve Footwork

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Return of Serve Footwork

Curious as to what the latest thinking is about return of serve footwork, especially on the forehand side. As a coach, I have been emphasizing neutral stance with a turn, load and step in approach. I have one player who only returns on the forehand side open stance. With the advent of semiwestern and western grips and open stance hitting, what are some guidelines to use regarding return footwork. How much do grip, ball height, ball speed, and stance preference play in footwork for the return.

Ralph

Return of serve

Originally posted by ralph View Post
    Curious as to what the latest thinking is about return of serve footwork, especially on the forehand side. As a coach, I have been emphasizing neutral stance with a turn, load and step in approach. I have one player who only returns on the forehand side open stance. With the advent of semiwestern and western grips and open stance hitting, what are some guidelines to use regarding return footwork. How much do grip, ball height, ball speed, and stance preference play in footwork for the return.

Ralph
    Ralph,
    1.Please see an article by Bobby Bernstein.

videos of different stances are shown at the pro level

2.Please see Interactive Forum about the footwork of Murray
    some of my blogs as well under my name uspta146749877 as well.

3.A return of serve of Venus Williams especially a seond serve return
    is of interest as well-see her match of Nov.5 2008,Doha
    You may see as well

See that a step forward is a very small one.

4.see an uspta disc by Frank Pfister about return of serve.
    The issue of avoiding a lateral step at the very beginning
    is discussed
    More details to come

5.Svetlana Kuznetsova very often does a lateral step when returning a serve-
    see her match at Doha Nov.7 2008.

6.Another interesting metrics: a distance between bounce point and
    a contact point