Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Problem with my forehand (video included)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with my forehand (video included)

Hi, and sorry for kinda bad English

I am new to tennis, and strangely everything is going good except my forehand. Heres some video of me hitting some

side view: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WB3SK8U6Ubo
    rear view: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ejl0S3XpT-Y
    you can go to www.keepvid.com and paste the youtube link there and download the video, and then watch it in frame by frame.

My worst problem is control...
    I started playing tennis this summer (and I play it every day), so as biginner, should I hit my forehand with more closed stance?

On the pictures I uploaded you can see where is my wrist and racket positioned just before downward and forward (later upward) motion begins. Can that create control problems? Lot of times I hit the ball too hard or to soft.

As a side note, I use power level 5 racket stringed at 27kg (on the videos I posted, I had racket stringed on 29kg).
    Attached Files

No left arm stretch in the preparation. Suggest you look at the Preparation article in Advanced Tennis under Your Forehand and the Modern Forehand.

Comment

John is right. The first thing that stands out is the poor use of the non-hitting arm. The swing is actually fine. It has good shape and repeats well. Your stance is very varied and a little too open on some shots. Try to use a semi-open more often, and use a neutral stance when the ball is down the court.

For a man who hasn't been playing long you are doing extremely well, keep it up.

Comment

Penn star balls

Originally posted by tcuk View Post