Mini Tennis

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mini Tennis

I originally posted this question directly to John Yandell but another member suggested I put the question into open debate on general forum. I am an English coach working the other side of the pond to most of you. Here is the question I posed to John. He kindly answered but is not directly involved in mini tennis so was unsure of the procedure at grass roots level over there in the US:

John:

Do you have mini tennis red, orange, and green over there in the US? If so, are kids locked into each stage of progression determined by age as they are here? For example, a kid of seven cannot progress to mini orange until they are eight, regardless of ability and physique.

Here in the UK, the LTA have spent millions rolling out mini tennis, and they strictly control the division of age groups in the mini tennis competitive structure. It's hugely controversial amongst coaches. Many feel gifted kids are held back by not being to compete in the age group above, especially if they romp thru their own age group virtually unchallenged.

Just wondered how it works over the pond?
    Stotty

Progressive tennis

We are much less organized than you are in this area. We have the Quick start guide lines but each pro can use or not use the guide lines.
    I have been using progressive tennis, red, orange and green for a few years. I also have several 10 and under boys using regular balls on large courts.

I am a believer in the system but it is not for everyone.

Comment

Open stance ?

You may consider reading

Comment

Another point of view

See

post #21

Comment

Thanks!

Thanks for the replies!

Over here mini tennis is a big thing. And it is undoubtedly a great way to to introduce tennis to youngsters. It makes the game attainable for the masses, and in particular for low ability students who would otherwise walk away from the difficulties of the traditional game.