Parental Tennis Blunders

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Parental Tennis Blunders

Let's hear your thoughts on Frank Giampaolo's article on "Parental Tennis Blunders."

Tremendous insight.

Great advice.

If the book is as good as the article, it should be under the tree of every tennis parent.

Heck, if the book is as good as the article, it should be given to every parent before they leave the hospital with their newborn.
    These are life lessons, not just tennis life lessons.

Comment

I don't think tennis books should have the word "Bible" in their title.

Comment

A knowledgeable article. I like the part about developing self-reliance.

From my standpoint as a coach, I feel there is often an even easier way to kickstart the self reliance process:

Many performance children have parents who are present for "everything" they do...the "ever-present parents" I call them. Every lesson, every squad, every hit, every match...they are there...it's annoying... gets on your nerves... it's undesirable for two reasons:

1. It often inhibits good coaching.
        2. The child becomes dependent on their parents being around for everything they do in tennis. During matches these children are constantly looking toward their parents for reassurance.

Tennis is a solitary game and learning self-reliance and independence is critical to player development. Tim Henman had great parents...very supportive...but stayed out of the way...never assumed a knowledge of the game...important that...nothing worse than parents who end up preaching a knowledge of a game they've never played...or if they have, not to any level.

Weening parents away from their children's tennis is a good starting point towards developing self-reliance for the student. Allowing children to play a few tournaments on their own and have lessons without their parents constantly spectating is a good first step towards establishing self-reliance in young tennis players.