Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Glad I Signed up

Hi John,
    I signed up for Tennisplayer in October, just a few weeks after picking up a racket for the first time. We exchanged some emails back then and I expressed a concern that the material might be a bit too advanced for me. You graciously offered me a one month trial which I took you up on, and then signed up for the year.

I just wanted to drop you a note to say that I'm SO glad I signed up! Even as a beginner, I've found the site extremely helpful. Of course, I pick and choose which lessons to pay most attention to, but I've found plenty of them that are appropriate for me. I'm a BIG fan of video analysis (I learned how to scull a few years ago and found videotaping myself an invaluable part of the process), and it's a great benefit to be able to compare my own videos to those of the pros.

I've also been able to sort out some misinformation I've gotten from other players, or even the pros at my club. For instance, I took a serve lesson last night (in preparation for my first USTA tournament, coming up this weekend) and the pro insisted on teaching me the "back step crossover" instead of the "front leg hop"... I had read an article about the serve on tennisplayer early on, so I was using the "hop" technique and it felt pretty good, and when the pro tried to get me to switch to the back leg technique it felt quite awkward. I tried it out for the duration of the lesson, but was pretty sure I would be switching back to my old method... As soon as I got home from my lesson, I logged on and read your "Myth of the Back Foot" article, which confirmed my suspicion that I was on the right track BEFORE the lesson and should disregard the advice I received to keep my front foot planted and step around with my back foot.

Anyway, this is just one of the many things I've learned from Tennisplayer.net, and I just wanted to thank you for all the hard work authoring and compiling these great articles.