Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using the resources of Tennis Player to Construct and improve one's game

Hi guys,

I was talking to John and decided to get his permission to start this thread. Basically what I've decided to do is to use the resources of Tennis Player to completely improve my game and achieve the goals I would like to with my tennis. I have one of the Casio Hi-Speed cameras so I plan on posting video strokes of my strokes, maybe some points, etc. etc. and I plan to analyze and show what I think I need to do to improve my game and I'll use the teaching systems and information on this site in order to do so.

First of all, a bit of background.

My name is Jonathan Ryle. I'm a 20 year old Tennis Ireland Level 1 tennis coach in Ireland and I am starting the Tennis Ireland Level 2 in August (I believe these qualifications are the equivalent of ITF Level 1, 2, 3) just to give you guys an idea. At the moment I'm studying Business and Accounting full-time in University and I'm going into my final year in September. I also coach and play in my local club in Naas and am an avid tennis fan also.

I also enjoy the admin side of tennis having been the Tournament Director for my clubs open this summer which, compared to the tournaments in America is small but for Ireland it was one of the strongest tournaments in the country. It featured World No.273 Fabrice Martin who received a wild card into the French Open this year in doubles and lost first round to the Bryan Brothers 6-3, 6-4. He won the singles and doubles titles and beat Ireland's Colin O'Brien in the singles final. Colin had a career high ranking of 599 before getting injured and he's making his comeback to the tour. Fabrice partnered our No.1 doubles player James Cluskey who had has a career high ranking of ATP 180 and is currently around ATP 220 and is playing on the doubs challenger circuit. So overall it was a decent enough tournament and I was glad to play a role in it.