Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Coaching High School Tennis

Let's discuss Roy Gessford's article, "Coaching High School Tennis"

High school tennis is very important. Played a huge role in my development as a player, a coach, and a person. Nice article Roy.

Ahhh Memories,

I remember when I was in college I took the job as tennis coach for the local high school team. What a circus. I was coach for two years until I graduated and went back to Florida.

Those two years as a high school coach were some of the most impactful, touching, rewarding and fun years of my life. My first season, I got the job by default. No one wanted to touch this rag tag, bad news bear type of team. This was a rural high school and tennis was not a priority or even recognized as a "sport" by most of the town's population. Kids showed up to practice in jeans and wooden racquets with busted strings. Most of them had no idea how to even play, keep score or physically make contact with the ball. I was not gifted with one tennis centric tennis player. Our best player was one of the stars of the school's mediocre hockey team.

We lost a bunch that first season. A BUNCH! I was never ashamed or mad at the team...but it was challenging to keep my patience. The biting of my lip and deep breaths saved me from what could have been a serious incident.
    It was truly a learning and growing experience for all of us

And boy did that team learn and grow.