A Forehand In Need of a Drop

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A Forehand In Need of a Drop

I thought the introduction of the "ideal" forehand from Dimitrov might be a good time to put up the clips from a student I've been working with for 4 years. He's about the same height as Grigor, but probably 20 or 30 lbs lighter. He won't turn 17 for another 4 months. I've been working with him and his younger sister for 4 years. I've given him almost 150 lessons, about 90 in 2011 and 2012, but only 57 or so in the last two years. I basically have been seeing them once every two weeks. I usually do a 3 hour session split between he and his sister, including about 20-30 minutes when I have them serve together. He works a lot with his father who is not a tennis player, but feeds a lot of balls and tries to help his kids. Dad doesn't speak a word of English to me so it's a little hard to communicate. On top of that, there have been a lot of other pros influencing the development of his strokes which can be very frustrating when you are trying to figure out why a particular change in technique appears from nowhere just when you think you had something on the right path.

Nevertheless, he is a hard worker and really has made a lot of progress. Sometimes I can get him hitting the ball so well, I don't understand why he doesn't have better results. But, of course, competing is a whole different realm from simple stroke production. I try to see and tape some matches, but I am not there constantly like a lot of high level coaches. Sometimes I think if I could just have this kid 3 times a week for just an hour I could get the elements I want to see and do see in the sessions with me to become real solid habits.