Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who has the best weapon for each stroke

John-

I love the site and would like to ask 2 questions. First of all, in your opinion, which men and women have the best weapon in the following areas: Forehand, Serve, Return of Serve, Backhand (2H), Slice Backhand (1H), Volley, Approach, Footwork, Overhead and mental/strategy. Second, if the players you name are not on your site, what is the best way to research them. I know this may be a lot to answer, but I'm new to the game and it would be helpful.

Thanks,

Brent

Basically these are impossible questions. They are too simple and based on an assumption that isn't valid: that there is such a thing as "best" anything in tennis.

It's a lot more complex. Most of these issues are addressed by various writers in multiple articles on the site. I'm not going to repeat everything here obviously--that's what the site is for.

But some comments. First when you say "weapon" that can mean many things--offensive, or defensive, or type of offense or defense. Where do you play on the court, can you hit early, etc., do you want to be at the net? Physically can you be aggressive with the serve at what age?

You can not separate the strokes from the playing style. Personality is probably the basis for playing style so if you play like Hrbaty, Taylor Dent isn't your model even if you love his volleys. That's one big issue for any junior player. How you play should influence who you model. BUT there is the issue of developing a complete game no matter what your style and here I agree completely with the new article from Gene Mayer.

The other related factors are grips and swing patterns. Yeah Agassi's forehand is great, but he's not the model if you have Nadal's grip. (And hopefully you don't/) If you read the articles on the arm positions on the two-handed backhand in Advanced Tennis it's the same issue. You can't model Agassi if your natural swing is bent/bent.