Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Visual and kinetic learning

Hello John,

I am a portuguese tennis coach currently working in Hong Kong. I've recently subscribe to your site and it has been just amazing. I've been learning all the time that I check the site with all new information and all those great high speed images. I saw that article you wrote about the myth of the wrap on the forehand and I know exactly how bad it feels to see young junior tennis players having that ugly and artificial swing. Now at least I have a cientific article to proof my view and to show it to some of my students. Thanks for that!

It's very true that we learn mainly through visual and kinestic chanels. In my case I remember when I was 18 years old I had a good forehand that I was very proud of but I knew that was something missing in my swing because it just wasn't consistent enough. But one day I was seeing one friend of mine playing, who had a great forehand, and I automatically visualise the way that he swang and hit the ball and it just felt so easy in my mind that I knew that I had no problem imitating his swing. It was the missing link!! From that day my forehand becomed the weapon that I dreamed about. That vision was so powerfull in my mind that 15 years after I still can remember all about that day, the court where he was playing and everithing is still very clear in my brain.

Now that I have seen through your site the importance of the speed video analysis, I feel that I have to buy one of those video cameras. Could you give some advice of the speed video cameras ?

Thank's for that and keep up with the great tennis site!!

You're helping to build up better coaches and better players...

best regards

Andre Vaz Pinto

forehand finish