Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help understanding the semi open forehand

Hi everyone,

As a relative beginner I've stuck with using the neutral stance forehand and thanks to this website it's improved a lot. I realise that I need to develop a semi open forehand for faster or higher balls. My problem is, when planting my outside foot parallel to the baseline and loading the leg, it then feels like my knee is being twisted when I push off and rotate forward. I realise pros often explode off the court unweighting the outside leg and allowing it to rotate, but I'm not sure how this should be done if the feet don't leave the floor.

I'd greatly appreciate any thoughts on how to do this correctly and avoid injury!

Many thanks,

Michael

It's really about aligning yourself up correctly behind the ball, making sure you have correct weight distribution and balance. Being balanced is most key. If you use a deep knee bend and drive up as you hit your outside leg should come naturally come up to aid recovery back to the middle of the baseline. This is critical. The outside foot then replaces the inside foot as you side skip back to the middle (here is a perfect example of recovery; see how Roger's right foot goes to where the left foot was after the strike https://www.tennisplayer.net/members...Rear2.mp4&new=)

Without seeing you forehand, it's tough to make a call what you're doing wrong. Why not load a clip?
    Stotty

Comment

Thanks for your reply stotty. I've learned to align my outside foot with the ball (if that's what you mean) as per Kerry Mitchell's forehand article, prior to this I was stepping across when using the neutral stance. What would be the correct weight distribution that you mention for the semi open forehand and could you offer any other key checkpoints?