Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Have Tennis Coaches Failed Female Athletes?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Have Tennis Coaches Failed Female Athletes?

Let's discuss Dr. Brian Gordon's article, "Have Tennis Coaches Failed Female Athletes?"

Oh my goodness!!! Thank you Brian for biomechanically confirming what I've always believed.

I've been teaching for over 30 years and I've been teaching boys and girls to hit the Type III forehand the whole time.
    Not one of the girls I've taught has the Type I forehand. I have always felt that it doesn't matter if you're a girl or a boy. It's all about the technique!

The one girl who recently switched from a one-handed forehand to a two-handed forehand (see the two-handed forehand posts) did so because she just couldn't keep the racket from going too far behind her back. I tried every drill I could think of. We watched videos of her forehand and the forehands of ATP players. We watched videos of Ash Barty and Justine Henin just to prove that a female can hit a Type III forehand.

The two-handed forehand has made a huge difference. The size of her backswing has become much more compact.
    She can hit the snot out of the ball. She can hit high and heavy, She can hit "spinny angles." A player can't hit those shots with a Type I forehand. Not to mention that she can handle a big ball from her opponents better because her backswing so compact now.

I remember hearing that "you need to teach girls to play differently from how you teach boys." That may be true in how you relate to girls vs. boys, but I have always just refused to teach girls to play "like girls."

Why can't girls learn the Type III forehand? THERE'S NO REASON! (Sorry for yelling. Sort of.)