The Forgotten Era of Tennis: Bill Tilden Part 3

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Forgotten Era of Tennis: Bill Tilden Part 3

Let's get your thoughts on Peter Underwood's article, "The Forgotten Era of Tennis: Bill Tilden Part 3"

So I emailed Peter. Stotty and any others could you post questions for him in this thread?

Comment

Peter,
      When I was a young teaching pro in San Francisco in the late 70s, Alice Marble visited and I got to play doubles with her. Afterwords she volunteered that she thought Tilden was the greatest of all time. When she was on tour with Tilden and Budge, Tilden was like 50. Budge won the tour easily but on several occasions Tilden came to her before the match and told her something like "Tonight I will teach the young man a lesson." And on all those occasions Tilden won.
      Thoughts?
      John Yandell

Comment

Hello Peter,
        I have a collection of old tennis books that date back to the 1880’s. However, my prized collectible is a book by Tilden written in 1928. The book is entitled Lawn Tennis for Match Players. The interesting aspect of this little book is that it is signed by Tilden. There is also a few words written in Tilden’s hand, it reads “To my grand little pal, Jimmie, With my love, Bill, William T. Tilden 2nd.” I purchased the book in the late 70’s at a small book store in Hollywood. I know Tilden spent his last days teaching tennis in the Hollywood area. I was able to show the signature to Dick Skeen who knew Tilden, and he said the signature was authentic. Skeen was an outstanding coach and player who Tilden mentions in his book, How to Play Better Tennis. Anyway, the books written by Tilden are very interesting because they are not ghost written. Tilden considered himself a writer, and he wrote many books both non-fiction and fiction. I would like to thank you for these wonderful articles on this great champion and tragic figure.

Sincerely,

Norman Ashbrooke

Comment

Hello John,