Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Exploring 'Super Coaching' - Any Thoughts?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exploring 'Super Coaching' - Any Thoughts?

This is a link to a video I made: http://tpatennis.net/super-coaching-...nnis-coaching/

I am not posting this video for publicity but rather to share my ideas and learn from others. I am by no means an expert in 'super coaching' but it is something I am working towards.

What are your thoughts on this? I have already met 2 great people from this forum so I thought i'd post something else and read what everyone has to say.

I always want to learn!

My article that goes with the video:

This video demonstrates the art of ‘Super Coaching’. The video starts off slow but I believe it is worth watching in full. By the end I am able to get Emira to thoroughly understand her backhand slice. Asking questions rather than just giving instruction is extremely beneficial to both the player and coach. This style of coaching can really help with:

Training the player to think and be able to solve problems on their own. This will be important when they are playing points without a coach or time-outs to help them.

They understand how it FEELS when they hit the shot right and wrong rather than just judging their shot on the result. When they are fully aware of how it feels when they hit the shot well, they have a better chance of reproducing it.

I have wanted Emira to stay sideways on the slice for a while but my advice wasn’t ‘sticking’. By approaching it this way I got her to discover it for herself, which is ideal. In the future I can refer back to this moment by saying such things as “remember when you told me how great your backhand felt when you stayed sideways?” … “see if you can focus on it a little more”